• Write a Letter of Support to your elected officials letting them know you support the Blueway, scroll down for sample letter and list of elected officials.
  • Help spread the word by letting people know about the Blueway
  • Volunteer to help expand the website, create events, develop programming, etc.
  • Tell your Elected Officials to support South Shore Blueway Trail development and funding.

Use letters, email, and fax to make a difference and state your support for the Blueway Trail. Be sure to include your full name and address to show that you are a constituent. If you have previously met the elected official, personalize your letter by briefly describing when and where that occurred.

Scroll down for a complete listing of elected officials Federal, State, Nassau County, Town of Hempstead, Town of Oyster Bay and Long Beach. Please cc us at

Sample Letter
Your Name
City, State, Zipcode
Your E-mail & Phone Number

To: The Honorable_________________________
Dear  ____________________,

I am writing to let you know I support the South Shore Blueway Trail, which creates a network of accessible launches for kayaks and canoes in Nassau County. Together public agencies and private citizens from local communities have joined forces to create one of New York’s finest water trails.  
Something here about your personal story and how the trail will impact you and the area. 
The South Shore Blueway Trail is generating tremendous community support and incorporates so many positive benefits to the region:
 • Furnishing safe water access to nature and recreation
 • Providing opportunities for education about wildlife and the environment
 • Delivering healthy outdoor recreation to build healthy communities
 • Fostering environmental awareness and stewardship
 • Encouraging cooperation among diverse water users
Let me close by restating that I very much support development of the South Shore Blueway Trail. This water trail is deserving of your support for the sake of quality of life, economic development and coastal sustainability. Thank you for your time. I look forward to your support of the South Shore Blueway Trail.  
 Sincerely yours,


Gillibrand, Kirsten E. – (D – NY)
478 Russell Senate Office Building Washington DC 20510
(202) 224-4451
Schumer, Charles E. – (D – NY)
322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington DC 20510
(202) 224-6542 
U.S. Representatives
3 CD
Peter T. King
1003 Park Blvd, Ste 7
Massapequa Park, NY 11762-2741
4 CD
Kathleen Rice
300 Garden City Plz Ste 200
Garden City, NY 11530-3330
State Senators
New York State Senate, Albany, NY 12247
5 SD
Carl Marcellino
250 Townsend Sq
Oyster Bay, NY 11771-2339
7 SD
Jack M. Martins
151 Herricks Rd, Ste 202
New Hyde Park, NY 11040-5200
6 SD
Kemp Hannon
224 7th St
Garden City, NY 11530-5774
8 SD
Michael Venditto
5550 Merrick Rd, Ste 205
Massapequa, NY 11758-6238
9 SD
Dean G. Skelos
55 Front St, Ste 1
Rockville Centre, NY 11570-4046
State Assembly Members
New York State Assembly, Albany, NY 12248
9 AD
Joseph S. Saladino
512 Park Blvd
Massapequa, NY 11762-3046
21 AD
Brian Curran
112 Merrick Rd
Lynbrook, NY 11563-2739
13 AD
Charles D. Lavine
70 Glen St, Ste 249
Glen Cove, NY 11542-2855
15 AD
Michael A. Montesano
111 Levittown Pkwy
Hicksville, NY 11801-4421
18 AD
Earlene Hooper
33 Front St, Ste 104
Hempstead, NY 11550-3601
17 AD
Tom McKevitt
1975 Hempstead Tpk, Ste 202
East Meadow, NY
14 AD
David G. McDonough
404 Bedford Ave, Unit A
Bellmore, NY 11710-3514
22 AD
Michaelle Solages
1690 Central Ct
Valley Stream, NY 11580-1143
19 AD
Edward P. Rae
825 East Gate Blvd,
Ste 207
Garden City, NY 11530-2119
20 AD
Todd Kaminsky
20 West Park Ave,
Long Beach, NY 11561-2033
22 AD
Michaelle Solages
1690 Central Ct
Valley Stream, NY 11580-1143
Nassau County Legislature
1550 Franklin Ave.
Mineola, NY 11501-4801
1 LD — Kevan Abrahams   Fx: 516-571-6187
2 LD —Siela A. Bynoe  Fx: 516-571-6761
3 LD — Carrié Solages   Fx: 516-571-6732
4 LD — Denise Ford
5 LD — Laura Curran
6 LD — Francis X. Becker, Jr.
7 LD — Howard Kopel
8 LD — Vincent T. Muscarella
12 LD — James Kennedy
13 LD — Norma Gonsalves
14 LD — Laura Schaefer  Fx: 516-571-6134
15 LD — Dennis Dunne, Sr.
16 LD — Judith A. Jacobs  Fx: 516-571-6287
17 LD — Rose Marie Walker
19 LD — Steven Rhoads  Fx: 516-571-3907
Town of Hempstead
1 Washington St.
Hempstead, NY 11550
Kathleen Murray
Council Members
1 TD — Dorothy L. Goosby;
2 TD — Edward A. Ambrosino;
3 TD — Bruce Blakeman j
4 TD — Anthony J. Santino;
5 TD —Erin King Sweeney;
6 TD — Gary Hudes;
Town of Oyster Bay
54 Audrey Ave.
Oyster Bay, NY 11771 
Supervisor:  John Venditto
Council Members:
Chris J. Coschignano
Michele Johnson
Anthony D. Macagnone
Joseph D. Muscarella
Joseph G. Pinto
City of Long Beach
1 West Chester Street
Long Beach, NY 11561
City Manager:
Jack Schnirman
City Council:
Len Torres, Council President
Fran Adelson
Anthony Eramo
Eileen J. Goggin
Scott J. Mandel